IESA Sportsmanship Award winners revealed

Staff Writer
Chillicothe Times-Bulletin

The Illinois Elementary School Association announced its Division Sportsmanship Award Winners for the 2013-14 school year. Voted on by their peers, the following schools represent the highest level of sportsmanship and integrity when it comes to participating in IESA interscholastic activities.

2013-14 Division Sportsmanship Award Winners

A - Antioch

A - Vernon Hills Hawthorn North

B - Amboy

C - Flossmoor Parker

D - Beecher

E - Grand Ridge

F - Monmouth-Roseville JHS

G - Cissna Park

H - Metamora GS

I - Cerro Gordo

J - Augusta Southeastern

K - Rantoul St. Malachy

L - Assumption Central A & M

M - Springfield Christian

N - Newton Jasper County

O - Gillespie

Comprised from each of the 15 IESA divisions, the award is designed to recognize outstanding behavior of an IESA member school and their community.

To be considered for the award, a school must be involved in at least 50% of the IESA's activities and have no ejections (players, coaches, and fans) for the entire school year. In addition, the school and community must exemplify all around good behavior indicative of good citizens and good sports.

"Good sportsmanship is one of the primary focuses of junior high school interscholastic activities." said Assistant Executive Director Julie Cochran. "Everyone involved in interscholastic activities is responsible for promoting, teaching and enforcing the expectations of being a good citizen."

Those schools who have been selected this year to represent each division receive an IESA Sportsmanship banner to hang within their school.

For a complete listing of previous winners dating back to 2007-2008, go to