IESA Scholar Attitude winners revealed

Staff Writer
Chillicothe Times-Bulletin

The Illinois Elementary School Association recently announced the winners of the 2014 Scholar Attitude Award.

One student from each of the 15 IESA membership divisions was selected by a panel of judges. To be considered, a student from an IESA member school must be of eighth-grade status, have a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. 

In addition, each student is required to submit an essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

"I am pleased to announce the 2014 IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "These 15 students represent the very essence of junior high school interscholastic activities. They have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic fields, in fine arts activities, and have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their communities. This is the 16th year of the program and I am continually amazed at the caliber of students who win this award."

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2014 are:

Division A: Katie Lingen, Oak Park Brooks

Division B: Jarron Nordstrom, Geneseo MS

Division C: Connor Reid, Clarendon Hills Notre Dame

Division D: Grace Gliwa, Homer Glen Homer

Division E: Janessa Knapp, Forrest Prairie Central

Division F: Taylor Larson, Mossville

Division G: Gabby Wessels, Crescent City

Division H: Alyssa Ely, Bloomington St. Mary's

Division I: Alex Kuhn, Maroa-Forsyth

Division J: Will Hall, Macomb

Division K: Erin Lenschow, Mahomet-Seymour

Division L: Jessica Rose, Villa Grove

Division M: Catie Eck, Springfield Blessed Sacrament

Division N: Katie Veenstra, Robinson Nuttall

Division O: Brady Kinder, Staunton

The 15 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal will be guests of the IESA and will be honored with a luncheon that begins at 11 a.m. May 6, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington.

All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion, a gift card, and a DVD of the day's events.

Stephen Bargatze, of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association, will be the guest speaker.