Local seats up for spring election

Marianne Gillespie TimesNewspapers

While petitions began circulating months ago for seats around the Chillicothe City Council table, there are other local boards on which residents can choose to serve.

The Illinois Valley Central District 321, Chillicothe Public Library District and Chillicothe Park District all have trustee positions on their respective boards up for the consolidated election April 9.

Petitions are now circulating for the seats, and must be filed between Dec. 17 and 5 p.m. Dec. 24.

School board

Four seats are up for re-election on the Illinois Valley Central District 321 Board of Trustees.

The four-year terms include the seats now occupied by Nell German, Steve Nalley, Donna Uebler and Sarah Williamson.

Informational packets, which include the petition needing signatures in order to run, can be picked up at the district office at Illinois Valley Central High School, 1300 W. Sycamore St.

Library board

Five seats are available on the Chillicothe Public Library District Board of Trustees.

Up for re-election are Jane Harrison, Kathy Close and Mary Jo Evans. Jeannie Bauer’s seat also is up for election, of which she was appointed to the seat when Ralph O’Sullivan resigned. One seat remains open after Brynn Sowers had to resign due to moving to Florida.

Packets may be picked up at the library, 430 N. Bradley Ave.

Park district board

The Chillicothe Park District also has three seats up for election this year of its seven-member board.

The four-year terms include the seats of incumbents Dick Howarth, Sandy Tippett and Wes Williamson.

Candidate materials may be picked up at Shore Acres Clubhouse, 100 Park Blvd., from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m. on weekdays.