PEORIA — Voters will not lack for choices during the March 20, 2018, primary election.

Whether at the state level, or for county positions, many offices are being contested.

After the deadline for candidates to file Monday evening, here are where things stand:

U.S. Congress

18th Congressional District: Incumbent U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood, R-Peoria, is challenged by Donald Rients of Benson, who ran against LaHood in the 2015 special election primary. Democrats Junius Rodriguez of Eureka, who lost to LaHood in the 2016 general election; Darrel Miller of Danvers, who ran unsuccessfullly against then-Rep. Aaron Schock in 2014; and Brian Deters of Morton will face off for their party's nomination.

17th Congressional District: Mark Kleine of Galesburg and Bill Fawell of Galena will compete for the GOP nomination. U.S. Rep. Cheri Bustos is uncontested for the Democratic nomination.

16th Congressional District: Incumbent U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger, R-Channahon, is challenged by James Marter of Oswego, a former central Illinoisan and Limestone Township High School graduate, and by Jaye DeBates of Granville. Democrats Neill Mohammad of DeKalb, Sara Dady of Rockford, Beth Vercolio-Osmund of Ottawa and Amy Briel of Joliet will vie for their party's nomination.

Illinois executive office

Governor: Incumbent Republican Bruce Rauner and Lt. Gov. Evelyn Sanguinetti are challenged by state Rep. Jeanne Ives and running mate Rich Morthland. Democrats seeking the nomination are JB Pitzker and running mate Julianna Stratton; Chris Kennedy and running mate Ra Joy; state Sen. Daniel Biss and running mate Litesa Wallace; Bob Daiber and running mate Jonathan Todd; Tio Hardiman and running mate Patricia Avery; Robert Marshall and running mate Dennis Cole; and Terry Getz, who filed without a lieutenant governor candidate.

Secretary of state: Incumbent Democrat Jesse White is opposed by state Sen. Michael Hastings. Republican Jason Helland is unopposed.

Attorney general: Republicans Erika Harold and Gary Grasso will vie for the GOP nomination. Democrats state Sen. Kwame Raoul, Renato Mariotti, Nancy Rotering, state Rep. Scott Drury, former Gov. Pat Quinn, Sharon Fairley, Jesse Ruiz and Aaron Goldstein will face off. Incumbent Democrat Lisa Madigan is not seeking re-election.

Comptroller: Incumbent Democrat Susana Mendoza and ex-GOP Rep. Darlene Senger are unopposed for their party nominations.

Treasurer: Incumbent Democrat Mike Frerichs and Republican Jim Dodge are unopposed for their party nominations.

Illinois Legislature

All area legislators — Reps. Ryan Spain, R-Peoria; Mike Unes, R-East Peoria; Jehan Gordon-Booth, D-Peoria; Keith Sommer, R-Morton; Tim Butler, R-Springfield; Tom Bennett, R-Gibson City; and Sens. Jason Barickman, R-Bloomingon and Bill Brady, R-Bloomington — are running unopposed in their primaries.

Only Sommer and Unes have declared opponents for the fall — Jill Blair, D-Bloomington, and Carolyn Blodgett, D-Canton, respectively — who are also unopposed in their primaries.

Sens. Dave Koehler, D-Peoria, and Chuck Weaver, R-Peoria, are in the middle of their terms and not up for re-election.

Judicial office

Stark County voters will select a Republican resident circuit judge nominee in this GOP-leaning county for the seat being vacated by Circuit Judge Tom Keith, one of the finalists for the post of U.S. attorney for the Central District of Illinois.

Toulon attorney Robert Rennick Jr. and Bradford attorney Bruce Fehrenbacher are seeking the position. Both ran against Keith in 2014 for the job.

Peoria County

Auditor: Democrats Emily Rotherham and Jessica Thomas will vie for the Democratic nomination for the two-year unexpired term now filled by Kent Rotherham. Alan Paredes, who unsuccessfully ran last year for the seat as a Republican, is unopposed for his party's nomination. The entire series of contests may be rendered moot if voters approve a ballot measure in March to make the office appointive effective in December 2018. There would then likely be no election on the fall ballot.

Sheriff: Both appointed Sheriff Brian Asbell, a Republican, and Bartonville Police Chief Brian Fengel, a Democrat, are unopposed for their party's nominations.

County Board: Only Republican incumbent Brad Harding will face a primary. He's opposed by Matt Windish.

Unopposed in primary: Clerk Steve Sonnemaker, Treasurer Nicole Demetreas, County Board members Junior Watkins, Andrew Rand, Allen Mayer, Phil Salzer, Kate Pastucha (unexpired two-year term), Brian Elsasser, and Paul Rosenbohm.

Newcomer Rachel Reliford, a Republican, is unopposed in the primary and the general election to replace retiring incumbent Bob Baietto. And Matt Shane, a Republican, and Robert Reneau, a Democrat, are unopposed for their party's nominations for board District 10, where incumbent Stephen Morris is retiring.

Several others face opposition in the general election, though. Mayer will face Republican Brett Beachler; Pastucha will face Republican Dave LaHood; Rosenbohm will face Democrat Jeffrey Braun.

Tazewell County

Sheriff: Jeff Lower and Mike Eeten will vie for the Republican nomination to replace retiring GOP Sheriff Bob Huston.

Clerk: Republicans John Ackerman, Brett Grimm and Shelly Hranka will seek their party's nomination. Democrat Brittany Miller is unopposed for her party's nod. Incumbent Democrat Christie Webb is retiring.

Coroner: Republicans Scott Price, Steve Bresnahan and Charlie Hanley will seek their party's nod to fill an unexpired two-year term. Incumbent Jeff Baldi is retiring early.

County Board: Four Republicans, Nick Graff, Jerome Hranka, Brandon Hovey and Greg Menold, will seek the GOP nod for three seats in District 2.

Unopposed in primary: Treasurer Mary Burress; County Board District 1 members Monica Connett, Frank Sciortino, Jay Hall; County Board District 1 member Joseph Wolfe (two-year unexpired term); County Board District 3 incumbent Seth Mingus; County Board District 3 Republican candidate Gregory Longfellow and Democrat Matthew Ward.

Incumbent District 3 candidates Andy Rinehart and John Redlingshafer did not file for re-election.

Woodford County

The Woodford County Clerk's Office did not provide the Journal Star with a preliminary list of candidates who had filed for office, and will not generate a complete list until Tuesday morning.


Peoria County Regional Superintendent of Schools Beth Derry, a Democrat, and Mason/Tazewell/Woodford Regional Superintendent of Schools Patrick Durley, a Republican, are both unopposed for the primary and general elections.

For the District 1 School Board seat for Peoria Public Schools, Martha Ross is unopposed for a new five-year term. Unlike the other races, that is a nonpartisan seat, and the March 20 vote constitutes the general election.

Chris Kaergard covers politics and government. He can be reached at or 686-3255. Follow him on Twitter @ChrisKaergard.